愛 Kenjii Musings 愛

Journal of anime ramblings, fiction works and reflections

Shingeki no Kyojin Ep. 17: How the crap did Reiner survive??

Shingeki has done away with the chatting for now to deliver some well anticipated action. Like last week, there isn’t much I have to say but this time the reason is different. I had mentioned a long time ago that I had been spoiled on what is to come in Shingeki no Kyojin, that and it was just a lot of action in this episode so there isn’t much to say. Reiner EscapeBUT THIS!! THIS IS WHAT I WANT TO TALK ABOUT!! How is it possible? Reiner’s escape left me baffled, I replayed that scene so many times trying to find some way how he could have made his escape. As far as I see it, the female titan’s grip was really tight on him yet when the scene switches to him busting out of her fist, his body is completely inside her palm. His right hand was within her grasp so he could have moved it around, but again her grip seems too tight for him to do that. Is it that her grip isn’t as tight as it was made to seem? Or is it that she actually had no intention of killing him and allowed him to get away with that one?? I don’t know but this was the best part of the episode. I was about to waste my tears Reiner!! Don’t do that to me! Sasha also gave me a scare and that abnormal titan will probably haunt my dreams tonight – that’s if I should have any.

Sasha, honey. I know that this is a scary situation but please don't scare me like this again.

Sasha, honey. I know that this is a scary situation but please don’t scare me like this again.

I felt so much for her at this part, I almost fell off my bed and cried when I thought she was about to get caught by frog man. I have to say though, she’s a lot more composed than I would have been in that situation. I would have passed out right there. Passed out and died. Female TitanCan you imagine the terror?? If this was Armin back in the day, he’d probably have started crying, had a runny nose – the works. I applaud you Armin, for your growth. Again…if this were me, the tears and a bladder movement would have been so real. Female Titan 2And is she smiling??? I don’t know…there seems to be a Glasgow smile stretch going on with her lips. But all I have to say is she’s looking pretty neat and hot. I had no idea Shingeki no Kyojin could give us fanservice of a sort. Her buttocks was all up in the screen but I couldn’t get a perfect screenshot of it. I want to see what happens next week. Armin is thinking that her target is Eren. Mikasa and Levi will definitely be involved if Eren is. So there’ll probably be a showdown since no one was a match for this femme fatale in this episode. I’m really looking forward to it.

17 comments on “Shingeki no Kyojin Ep. 17: How the crap did Reiner survive??

  1. Shinashi
    August 4, 2013

    I watched it today, too, and I was like, wait… Wait, how? But now that I’ve seen your gif, I think he twisted himself all small like and blasted out, basically the same form you need to be twistin’ on them Titans’ neck, ya know? He probably kicked off her pinky or some such and got out just by a little hole…

    It’s kind like when you catch a bug and you think you squashed and they fly out and you’re like, fucking little shit’s gonna be botherin’ me all night!

    *cough*

    Armin and Sacha, I swear, if they don’t stop making my heart stop… I’mma die.

    • charlmeister
      August 4, 2013

      Looking at it that way, it makes sense but it still looks so impossible. If he was small like Armin then I wouldn’t even find it as unbelievable. It’s just the part where she squeezes and there’s just blood but I’m guessing that’s where he managed to stab her and wriggle around and out of her hand :/.

      Right?? They’re gonna kill us both ;_;

      • Shinashi
        August 4, 2013

        I don’t think it’s much of squeeze, really, but a twitch because he’s shredding her hand in his spin attack? 😄

  2. medievalotaku
    August 4, 2013

    He must have eaten a devil fruit and received the same power and Luffy. That explains how he can be crushed and yet pop back out!

    • charlmeister
      August 4, 2013

      Heh, that must be it. Or maybe that cape has some other magical defenses Erwin and the others didn’t bother telling us about.

  3. Alice Vega
    August 4, 2013

    Awesome review!! 😀 What program do you use to make your gifs?

  4. Sindar
    August 4, 2013

    I guess, the idea was that Reiner first broke the sword in his right arm, making it shorter and more maneuverable, and then managed to pull out the right arm cutting off two fingers with that same movement. Then, as he was free to move, he rotated his body and, probably, cut off titan’s thumb using the momentum, and broke his other sword. I would say it is possible if he had inhuman strength and luck.

    • charlmeister
      August 4, 2013

      That makes sense too but I still find it a little unbelievable because of how she held him and Reiner is thick bodied so I just can’t see him being able to get that much space to injure her enough.

      Ha, he has both apparently xD

  5. kkeyes
    August 4, 2013

    Think of it like this you saw blood yes? It was Reiner’s. GL figuring it out guys 😀

    • charlmeister
      August 4, 2013

      >_> I knew it was his blood…that’s why I don’t get how he escaped :/

  6. simon
    August 6, 2013

    replay the scene after rainer bursts out of her hand … just watch the scene of him and armin running after rainer saved him.

  7. rinyotsu
    November 9, 2013

    This still bugs me even having seen all the way to episode 25. maybe he sliced her hand but the first thought was that he is the armored titan and she didn’t kill him because it would be suspicious and he would be useful later. My only reason for that thought is that the hair looks similar but it has been 5 years time so it’s seriously a leap.

    • charlmeister
      November 11, 2013

      I agree and in that scene too. I think he had blood on his face from an injury and it evaporated but that was like a flash scene. Evidence that he might as well could be a titan – and the armored one as you say.

      It seems that Reiner keeps his hair short, so you could be right about him being the armored titan…

  8. Reiner Bruan
    March 28, 2016

    It’s because her grip could not penetrate my iron abs

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 4, 2013 by in Anime Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , .
