愛 Kenjii Musings 愛

Journal of anime ramblings, fiction works and reflections

Catching up with Anime [Pt. 3]

I actually thought that once I stopped working I’d throw myself wholeheartedly back into blogging and clearing my anime watch list. A lot happened over the past weekend (distractions) that I even forgot that a new episode of Shingeki no Kyojin had been aired (blas-phermy) and yesterday was a lazy and miserable one (excuses). Actually I never watched any new episodes until last night so I’ve caught up now.

Instead of titles coming off my watch list, it’s just piling up plus there are mangas to be read – Korean and Japanese dramas to be watched. I start working again next week so I’ll see how well I can cross some things off my list.

Shingeki no Kyojin (ep. 16):

This would have gotten a full, individual post but there isn’t much really that I have to say about it – that’s not to say the episode wasn’t good but there isn’t much to be discussed (at least not for me) because the pace slowed again. It was all about the recruits making their decisions about which  branch of military they’d choose – and Erwin’s raw effort to get some to join the Corps. Once you’ve decided to be in the Corps, that’s basically embracing the prospect of death. Erwin was not gentle with his speech and the other soldiers thought he should have been gentler in an effort to persuade the recruits but there is no point in sugarcoating what they’ll be facing – or pumping false optimism. What they need to have is the strong will to survive and courage (and the SKILLS. Lawd, they need the skills).

SnK 1I felt for Jean in this episode – the others too but Jean was who I really cared about. He’s one of my favorite characters. I really respect him. When the recruits were walking away and he stood there thinking; ambivalent about the choice he’d made, I teared up (probably it was the music). I thought he would have walked away at one point but he stayed. I had to applaud him. He’s really brave and although he’s afraid, he’s still willing to sacrifice himself for humanity – as long as he knows his death won’t be meaningless. I love Sasha too, I really wanted to hug her during this episode.

SnK 2

We already know Mikasa and Armin would have joined the Corps (THUG LIFE). Connie also joined but that hadn’t been his original plan. Like Annie, he chose the Military Police – to make his mother proud and have society think more of him. I’m happy that he made his own decision to join the Corps. I don’t think he’ll die.

On the other hand…I have a strange feeling that Jean might die. If that happens, there shall be weeping.

Next episode will give some well anticipated action since the Corps team is moving out. So I’m excited for that.

I probably should have taken a different shot...x.x

…I probably should have taken a different screenshot…x.x

Kamisami no Inai Nichiyoubi (ep. 4):

After watching the fourth episode, I don’t think I have the strength to continue because I want to strangle Ai. I had a terrible headache just because I couldn’t kick her. Why did Hampnie have to die at a time when I needed him the most to do what I can’t??

Hampnie bitch slap

Ai, Dmitrieyvich (or whatever the hell his name is) and Scar left the village in an old van and there was a young man in the back. On the way there, he told them that he resided among the dead; who had built a “country within a country”. Because of their desire to keep living, they built a great city where the dead could continue living normal lives and I actually like their fashion – it resembles the Victorian style with the masks and style of dress.

Grave keepers are not welcome in their city and everyone of them that has been lured to bury the dead have been buried themselves (irony). So Ai, WITH HER SMART SELF, decides that she wants to stay in the city. Dmytrievich agrees to this and Scar understands that she mustn’t give in to the urge to bury the dead. Dmytrievich leaves to get the car fixed so they can leave and warns Ai not to leave the house.

I don’t think I have to go on about her being STUPID, and putting her life in danger by disobeying Dmitri. I wanted something bad to happen to her so she could learn from her stupidity. But conveniently, the mysterious redhead man who lured Ai away only did so to warn her to leave while she could.

I won’t even get into the part where Ai chased him just because he took her flyer. There were flyers LITERALLY on the ground and like an ass, she ran down “the dark and lonely alleyway” for a piece of paper – copies of which were at her feet, in the safety of the crowd. Logic!

I’m done.

The episode ended with him telling her that she needed to get out of the city. I think he’s a living among the dead and that there’ll be more of him but I doubt I’ll be sticking around for more episodes. Oh, there is also a princess.

PrincessI think she might be a grave keeper. But I’m not curious enough to want to keep watching to see where this goes.

And that’s it. There are more series I caught up with and finally started but I’ll leave those for another post.

crazy-monkey-emoticon-050

6 comments on “Catching up with Anime [Pt. 3]

  1. Sindar
    July 31, 2013

    Which anime from the Summer season are you following? Kamisami no Inai Nichiyoubi, Free!, are there some other ones?

    Next episode of AoT is going to be good, no doubt about it. The preview for it was the best part of the 16th episode xD Hopefully Levi will be able to redeem himself in Mikasa’s eyes.

    Using normal logic, Dmitriyevich is not his name, Julie is =) Dmitriyevich only means that his father was named Dmitriy. But well, I guess the guy who named him didn’t know much about savonic names (Julie Sakuma Dmitriyevich, that is just ridiculous), so there is no reason to use normal logic here.

    • charlmeister
      July 31, 2013

      Servant x Service, Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou, Danganronpa, Brothers Conflict, Blood Lad, Makai Ouji (though I haven’t moved past the first episode xD) and I started Kimi no Iru Machi and Watamote.

      Haha, I’d actually love it if they fought it out. There doesn’t seem to be any other way for her wrath to be calmed xD You can just in the way she glared at him.

      I didn’t remember his full name so I used the part of his name that I remember. So they used the name wrong?

      • Sindar
        July 31, 2013

        Oh, I remember, you’ve made a post on Servant x Service and Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou. You follow a lot more anime from the season than I do =) Brothers Conflict, Blood Lad, Makai Ouji, I don’t think I ever heard of them, would like to read your reviews. I image-searched Kimi no Iru Machi.. well there sure are lots of panties in this manga, I wonder if it also has plot or something xD

        Well, Julie Sakuma Dmitriyevich is just a nonsense, cause they mixed up Slavonic patronymic with French name and Japanese surname. There are also some rules for usage of Russian patronymics, but it would take a small essay to describe =)

      • charlmeister
        July 31, 2013

        Blood Lad is hilarious, you should check it out. Brothers Conflict is a reverse harem, similar to Amnesia only that there are like 11 brothers competing for their sisters love xD

        I never read the manga for Kimi no Iru Machi although I should since some comments I read stated that if you haven’t read the manga there might be some confusion :/

        Oh. Heh, I bet the writer thought no one would realize the error with the name xD

  2. GoodbyeNavi
    July 31, 2013

    You’re right; there is nothing much to discuss regarding this episode because nothing happened. Nothing. Jean ruminating and terrified, Eren was barely there, Mikasa was brooding and silent, and only Armin showed signs of life. I am excitedly looking forward to next week’s episode. I have been waiting for a female Titan!

    I have a watchlist myself. Just got done with my wedding so I’m hoping I can catch up on all I have been missing out on.

    • charlmeister
      July 31, 2013

      Yeah, the pace was slow. I think there’s a pattern that SnK is following now – whenever there’s going to be something big coming, they slow the pace to probably whet our anticipation – but that only seems to upset a lot of viewers xD
      I never watched the preview for ep. 17 – I’m looking forward to it even more now.

      And congrats 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 31, 2013 by in Anime Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , .
