愛 Kenjii Musings 愛

Journal of anime ramblings, fiction works and reflections

Clannad: Afterthoughts

I just finished Clannad After Story (it’s so late and I have an exam in the morning) but I just wanted to get my thoughts out while it’s all still fresh in my mind. I eased my pain with cake. And apart from Clannad-induced depression, I’m also down because I missed a big exam. Anyway, that’s beside the point (hopefully I can figure something out where that’s concerned). So Clannad! Clannad Girls After Story in particular. The good thing is I didn’t cry as much as I did during the first season. I liked watching the characters grow, graduate and move on with their lives. Except for Nagisa. That fever had some knack for coming at the points in her life when she would be progressing. During the first season I never really understood the parallel world of the robot and girl. After Story cleared that up nicely.

When Nagisa died, I expected it to an extent; considering the fact that Clannad is meant to be depressing. I never minded her dying, I didn’t miss her and I liked watching Tomoya grow out of his depression. I couldn’t feel upset with him for neglecting his daughter. I was disappointed but understood. Ushio would have been a constant reminder of Nagisa and at that point, reminders weren’t what Tomoya needed. He was awkward with her when he finally got around to being with Ushio the first time around. I love her so much (apologies for the lack of visuals, I’m not on my pc).

I was upset when Ushio turned out having the same fever illness as Nagisa. At this point I let out upset tears because I thought the writers had some vendetta against Tomoya. Torture can only go so far. It’s as if they were trying to push him to suicide. But then it all worked out. And instead of wasting his wish on having never met Nagisa, he wished he had both his wife and daughter back.

Personally, I wouldn’t have minded if Nagisa had stayed dead because I still would have enjoyed Tomoya and Ushio. But I’m glad Tomoya got his happy ending. Everyone had a happy ending. And I’m so happy Tomoya settled things with his dad and that his dad got better. Akio and Sanae will always be my favorite married couple.

Akio and Sanae

And those alternate endings! The one with Tomoyo made me tear up. If things had never worked out between Tomoya and Nagisa; my second choice for Tomoya would definitely be Tomoyo. As for Ryou and Kyou, I liked that alternate ending a lot! Biased because there were kiss and other mush/drama-related scenes. Overall though, Nagisa was the best just because she had Ushio and I can’t help my love for adorable babies.

I learnt a lot from Clannad. But before I get all deep and philosophical, I’ll leave things there since I’m tired and my eyes hurt from all that crying.

6 comments on “Clannad: Afterthoughts

  1. froggykun
    June 7, 2013

    I loved Clannad, but the part I loved wasn’t related to all the sad drama. Actually I loved Sunohara because he made me laugh.

    Hope you do well on your exam lol!

    • charlmeister
      June 7, 2013

      Sunohara was the best. He was my cheer-upper and Fuko too. It’s so sad that he didn’t get his own girlfriend xD. But then he probably wouldn’t have been the same.
      Thanks :3

  2. Sindar
    June 11, 2013

    So how was your exam? =)

    I remember you said that you were going to watch some other slice-of-life anime too. You still have those plans?

    • charlmeister
      June 11, 2013

      It was okay 🙂 it was a multiple choice paper so I think I did good enough xD

      I do. I started the Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya and Yuru Yuri and they’re both good so far ^^ even though the Haruhi episodes are confusing me.

      • Sindar
        June 11, 2013

        Yeah, I should have read your next post, where you explained all this, before asking =) About the order in which you watch the show, I watched it in release order, but I started with episode 1, not the episode 0. It doesn’t matter too much, I think that watching it in chronological order might even be more interesting.

      • charlmeister
        June 12, 2013

        I’m thinking to watch it in the correct order, as you suggest, but I might stick to the jumbled episodes and piece everything together myself.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2013 by in Anime Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , .