愛 Kenjii Musings 愛

Journal of anime ramblings, fiction works and reflections

Shingeki no Kyojin ep. 8: Some things to consider

First things first, let me start by saying, HE’S ALIVE!! The Tiki Gods accepted the many sob and burnt offerings and brought Eren back.

Firebending

I’d given myself time to let the joy settle since Saturday but my mind is still floating in bliss with Mikasa on the return of our beloved.

There is something I want to discuss otherwise. About these titans. In a previous commentary I mentioned this and I want to focus on it again. I’m beginning to think of the titans as ‘Level E’ (a term I got from Vampire Knight) type of zombies. Their range of height was described during the break period of the episode, and the extremely tiny ones make me think of children.

Titan babies

Even at the point where Jean faced the two titans, they looked like a couple; or maybe I’m just thinking too much into it.

Titan Couple

They can’t reproduce but yet they multiply. Is it after eating humans that their bodies get rid of the excess and the dead take on the form of the titan. You know, something like what Cell did in Dragon Ball Z.

Cell minions

That could explain why Reiner said their assholes are another weak spot. Or maybe he just said that in jest. So those 7 meter titans could just be children that took the form of titans after being eaten. And if it is so, there could be a plot twist where Eren faces the titan form of his mother in a later episode.

Another thing, the fact that Eren surfaced from the neck of the rogue titan he’d been controlling kind of explains to some extent why the neck is the weak point of the Titans. At least for me. If that is where the body stays then the human brain which becomes the Titan’s brain and/or life source causes that to be there weak spot since they can’t operate without their power house so to speak. And I guess eating humans is how they gain the ability to regenerate.

But the history and incidence of the Titans are both so bleak that it’s challenging to make good theories.

However, Eren’s ability to become a Titan probably has its back story in the second episode when he had that recollection – via nightmare – about his dad injecting him with something. Titan DNA maybe?

Where is his old man though? I know for a fact he isn’t dead but he’s MIA for some reason or the other – plot purposes I presume.

But that aside, again another epic episode. I gasped so hard seeing Eren and I love that Mikasa got more character development. It’s clear more than ever that Eren is her only reason for living and the only one she really cares about. I can bet she was thinking, “I’m so sorry I thought about giving up Eren.” I also liked seeing another side of Jean, honestly, I thought he was just some sort of asshole but he turns out to be quite the good character.

Sasha did good bringing some humor in this episode, and I’m sure she’ll get the chance to redeem herself. Also, you go Armin! Finally, our little strategist steps up to his real role and all his plans were successful.

So yes, the three musketeers titaneers have been reunited. I’m so happy he’s alive.

TitaneersI’m just hoping that Eren doesn’t get a lot of pressure put on him now that he can become a titan (or is it a one time thing?). And I hope he doesn’t get imprisoned or treated like an outcast because he became a titan. That would piss me off to no end.

That’s all for now. Let me know what you think.

12 comments on “Shingeki no Kyojin ep. 8: Some things to consider

  1. jessicask23
    May 27, 2013

    Like you didnt know !

  2. Shinashi
    May 27, 2013

    My sister and I guessed- why else would that new Titan look so cool? So effin’ cool? I did not think it was in the way that it was, much happier this way.

    Did you see at the preview? Generic stupidity at something new..So your awesome detective skills are correct again.

    • charlmeister
      May 27, 2013

      RIGHT! He was the only Titan with an awesome hairstyle anyway, and it was all in the eyes for me. That and I made Jess give me spoilers because I couldn’t take not knowing if Eren was going to come back or stay dead xD

      No, I didn’t :O He’s going to get treated like an outcast?? >_> *aggravated sigh*

      • Shinashi
        May 27, 2013

        And the whole grating-cheese abs and all… Hehe

        I can’t stand spoilers! Noooo~

        More than an outcast, I’m afraid.

        Which is SO STUPID. This is their one goddamn chance to really make a difference and they’re going to try to ruin it

      • charlmeister
        May 27, 2013

        Yeah, he was pretty smexy :3
        -____________- I’ll definitely run a blue streak next episode >_> And I really expect it because after watching some previous anime where stuff like that happened – like Bleach for one (I swear, Eren is a litle Ichigo) – I just had a feeling it would come to that.

  3. Artemis
    May 27, 2013

    This was probably my favourite episode of the series so far. I have a few issues with the show in general (including the copious amounts of still frames littered among the otherwise excellent animation, which seemed especially awkward this episode), but things are finally starting to click into place for me.

    • charlmeister
      May 27, 2013

      I noticed that. A reviewer I watched also mentioned that and thought the reuse of a scene from the opening animation (with the lift) was cheap and probably an indicator of production issues. I hope the animation picks back up.
      This was one of my favorite episodes too.

  4. Sindar
    May 30, 2013

    If there is indeed a human inside the neck of each titan, I wonder if they are still alive (like Eren was alive). And if they are, does it mean that Mikasa and other guys were killing those humans inside titans?..

    • charlmeister
      May 30, 2013

      Probably but then it would seem unlikely. I think he survived mainly because of the serum his dad used on him. I think once the human gets swallowed they’re consumed in a sense so they decompose within the titan; which is why titans have to eat more of them. Because during close-ups when they show other titans melting away there are no human remains.

      • Sindar
        May 30, 2013

        Yeah, it sounds right. Though, you can say that Eren’s titan was the only one, who died without having his neck ripped open, and taht was what saved Eren. Who knows =)

        By the way, I would really like to see Eren’s father again. There are quite a lot of things that he would be able to explain.

      • charlmeister
        May 30, 2013

        😮 I completely forget that his titan didn’t get slashed. Thanks for reminding me of that. That’s probably another reason why he survived for real.
        I think his dad is going to appear in a later episode when it’s critical. I’d love for him to come back too because knowing little to nothing about those titans is making me mad xd

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2013 by in Anime Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , .