愛 Kenjii Musings 愛

Journal of anime ramblings, fiction works and reflections

Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge: Impressions

I wanted to include another title besides the inclusion of “Impressions”. For example “When Moe becomes annoying” or “Weird anime licking obsessions” but that isn’t majority of what this entry will be about so I just stuck to Impressions to cover everything.

So far that introduction must suggest a coming rant, but before I get into everything that turns me off about this anime, I’ll just outline the good stuff about it.

The plot is good, the premise is interesting and just to save on sentences that will more than likely transition into run-ons and full blown paragraphs (because of rant-insertions), I’ll cite the plot summary from Wikipedia.

Plot

Kiri Haimura is a seemingly ordinary boy with one slight problem: he is obsessed with cutting other people’s hair. One day he meets Iwai Mushanokōji, the “Hair Queen”, who cannot cut her hair because of an inherited curse. Kiri finds out that his scissor, “Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge” is the only thing that can cut them. But little did he know that their meeting sparked the start of an old murder game to kill the “Hair Queen” using the cursed killing tools, the “Killing Goods”. Can Kiri protect Iwai from the Killing Goods Owners? Let the game begin!

The first episode wasn’t great, after pausing it into the first five minutes, I opened a new tab to watch Red Data Girl then completely forgot about it after awhile. I went back to watch it and the first thing I realized was that Kiri has an obsession with cutting hair and…hair. Iwai was in a greenhouse, just surrounded by pretty flowers, with her long flowing hair and white dress or nightgown (I couldn’t tell the difference) in all her Moe glory.

He was smitten with her hair, then there was some awkward conversation when she found him eyeballing her and the episode progressed into some okay content, action and meeting a couple other characters (Yamana and Hōko Byōinzaka, who are sisters).

The thing is, the first episode, didn’t feel like a first episode. It was pacy and felt like the anime had actually reached its ending. I was just staring at the screen after the first episode ended with those three dots going through my mind “…”. It felt completely rushed and I haven’t read the manga, although I think I will now instead of watching the series.

The problem I have with this anime is the characters, the fanservice (which is TERRIBLE) and Iwai (who falls under the heading of characters but she deserves a category to herself).

Iwai sucks

The thing about Iwai, is her level of Moe. It’s just TOO cute – and not in a good way. You know that moe gasp that the girl characters do after saying something, or when they smile  or laugh? Iwai does it too much. I can’t stand it. I can’t stand HER. She does it more than what the average moe girl does in an entire anime episode, in just a second and it’s irritating. I’d like her more if her level of Moe was moderate but I really think it was overdone. I hate hearing her voice to the point where I mute the volume when she starts speaking just to spare my sanity. And I love Moe, but Iwai makes a mockery of it.

The characters, I feel, are just too exaggerated. And characters have a lot to do with how the anime comes across; whether it’s too melodramatic, hilarious, serious or downright nonsensical. Kiri I can overlook, because he’s an okay character, excepting when he’s going on with his scissors madness and hair obsession.

Yamana felt exaggerated. Too exaggerated.

Crazy anime girl

Maybe that was done to sell the suspense effect, feeling of dread, or to hint at the extent to which the Killing Goods can control its Author when its needs aren’t being met. But it only annoyed me and didn’t flow with the atmosphere of action. I just feel as if the anime is taking itself too seriously a little too early because of the character presentation. There is no time for breathers really in this anime except for boring dialogue intervals.

Adonis guy

The only time I found any part of it interesting was when this guy showed up in the third episode for the last 10 or 15 minutes of it. I guess it’s his god-like figure that interested me and his sledgehammer (I call him Adonis). Including the fact that Kiri was going to take him on with a pair of scissors. Which was damn cool.

Scissor shit

And that’s the thing, I would have enjoyed this anime so much more if they tamped down on the character presentation than making them over the top. The fight scenes are really cool, especially Yamane’s and Kiri’s fight scene (a Syringe vs. Scissors).Fight Scene

It was pretty BOSS.

Strange fanservice

But when things like THIS happen, the fight scenes are distant memories to why I even sat to watch this and jotted reasons to continue watching. The fanservice in Dansai is the weirdest kind yet I’ve come across.

Hair stimulation

I can’t understand why…I can’t…

Maybe it’s because she’s naked underneath all that hair that upped the ante on stimulation. Sensitive scalp maybe, tender hair follicles. But I don’t get it.

Wrong question

I think she’s mad because he asked the wrong question.

And another thing, what is it with anime characters licking things?

Licking obsession

Is it just for weird humor or do they not know what to use their tongues for?

More creepy service

Then there’s more strange fanservice and licking. Oh and that’s her bigger sister – not to point out how strange this scene is, or judge these sisters. Whatever makes them feel good.

Maybe the directors were trying something new, but it isn’t working – not for me.

Because of the character presentation, the plot just doesn’t seem as interesting. It’s more like a big joke to me than anything. I don’t care whether Iwai gets saved or killed because the anime doesn’t make me feel as if I should take the characters seriously, at any point in time. With the exception of when the Adonis guy appeared.

I think that about clears up why I dislike this anime. And ironically, as much as I hate it, I’ll still watch it because even though I’m immensely annoyed with it, I want to see where it goes; if anything changes or something interesting (fight scenes) happens.

WELL! I think I’ve typed enough, if you have any thoughts on Dansai tell me about them.

Ahh yes! And for your listening enjoyment, Assassin’s Tango. I found the instrumental and thought I would share it.

crazy-monkey-emoticon-050 Hope you enjoyed it!

4 comments on “Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge: Impressions

  1. Shinashi
    April 24, 2013

    I looked at it and didn’t think it will be my thing. It sounds more like my thing, but the characters don’t interest me in the least, nor does the plot, so.. um.. Yea, thanks for the info!

    • charlmeister
      April 24, 2013

      Exactly, the characters just detracted from my interest in the anime. And you’re welcome xD

  2. Sindar
    April 28, 2013

    That hair fanservice looks really funny xD That is the first review of Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge that I’ve read and this anime looks kind of bizarre. If you go on watching it, I hope you’ll make another post about it. And thank you for the music ^_^

    • charlmeister
      April 28, 2013

      There are so many moments of hair fanservice, it’s ridiculous. Ha it IS bizarre, I started the fourth episode but stopped halfway through so thanks for reminding me to finish it xD
      You’re welcome :3 happy you liked it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2013 by in Anime Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , .
